Under the Golden Dome

“Under the Golden Dome”, is emailed weekly to subscribing members to keep them apprised of legislative developments at the Vermont Statehouse that affect agriculture. Legislative priorities are set annually by the organization following the elected delegate session determining policy in November. Jackie Folsom Legislative Director  (802) 426-3579 or at crkdbrks@aol.com 

***

The Vermont Legislature is in Recess. You are able to review the active bills, sponsors and progress made by Clicking HERE.

*** 

 CLICK HERE for the 2019 Legislative Summary

The UTGD Newsletter is for MEMBERS ONLY

If you are NOT a member and would like the UTGD Newsletter, sign up today!

THANK YOU!!

  

 2019

     For the week ending Jan 11th                        UTGD Downloadable Edition

       For the week ending Jan 18th                        UTGD Downloadable Edition

          For the week ending Feb 8th                              UTGD Downloadable Edition 

        For the week ending Feb 15th                            UTGD Downloadable Edition

        For the week ending Feb 22nd                           UTGD Downloadable Edition

        For the week ending Mar 1st                              UTGD Downloadable Edition

        For the week ending Mar 15th                            UTGD Downloadable Edition

        For the week ending Mar 22nd                           UTGD Downloadable Edition

        For the week ending Mar 29th                             UTGD Downloadable Edition 


            Stay Tuned for UPDATES ON YOUR 2019 COUNTY ANNUAL MEETINGS


http://vtfb.org/vermont-farm-bureau-calendar.php



KNOW THE LAW WHEN YOU DRIVE YOUR EQUIPMENT
One of our members was driving a large piece of farm machinery (a chopper) down a local road from one field to another.  He came to a narrow spot in the road and stopped to let traffic by in both directions, then proceeded into the lane.  Imagine his surprise when blue lights started flashing!  A local sheriff told the farmer he was "over-width" for the road and needed to pull his chopper off the road, park it and go home.  The farmer reminded the sheriff of the Right to Farm law and said he had no other way to get to his fields.  The sheriff continued to be quite aggressive about the "law"; the farmer continued to try and make him understand.  Finally, the farmer simply got in the chopper and drove to the field.
This farm is now talking to the selectboard in the town and planning to sponsor an educational meeting with the selectboard and the sheriff's office.  This is great and absolutely pro-active, but as the farmer said, "Why is this MY job?  They should know the law!"  
Please make sure you know your rights and responsibilities, and if anyone else has challenges, let us know so that we can figure out next steps.
And thanks to the farmer for sharing this experience.


  If you need to get in touch with us:

 Jackie at 802-426-3579 or email crkdbrks@aol.com

Joe at 802-644-6598 or josephtisbert@gmail.com .

 

Facebook:  Look for articles relevant to agriculture at least five days a week on Facebook. Please join Facebook, like us and join in on the conversations.

WEBSITE INFORMATION

How to submit written information to committees and how to get around the Vermont State House:

 
Vermont State House
 
                        Budget Speech (audio)
 
                                       Budget Speech Read copy:
 

Newshounds: for those of you who want a daily dose please subscribe to Morning Ag Clips: Newshounds

AFBF publications: AFBF,  Vermont Digger, Morning Ag Clips, VT Farm to Plate, NRCS USDA Gov

           Handouts Agricultural Committee

 

 Contacting representatives Email or In Person

At the beginning of each term we publish the member names on each committee of agriculture. The members are easy to contact. It's their first initial; last name @leg.state.vt.us with no spaces.

 Please do not use their private home phone numbers, unless you have their permission.

House Committee on Agriculture and Forest Products

Rep. Carolyn W. Partridge, Chair, cpartridge@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Rodney Graham, Vice Chair, rgraham@leg.state.vt.us.

Rep. John L. Bartholomew, Clerk,  Jbartholomew@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Thomas Bocktbock@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Charen Fegard, cfegard@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Terry Norris, tnorris@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. John O'Brien, jobrien@leg.state.vt.us

Rep. Vicki Strong, vstrong@leg.state.vt.us

 

Linda Leehman, Committee Assistant (802) 828-2233                                                                           lleehman@leg.state.vt.us

CLICK HERE for Information for Witnesses

Senate Committee on Agriculture

Sen. Robert Starr, Chair, rstarr@leg.state.vt.us

Sen. Anthony Pollina, Vice Chair, apollina@leg.state.vt.us

Sen. Brian Collamore, bcollamore@leg.state.vt.us

Sen. Carolyn Whitney Branagan, Clerk, cbranagan@leg.state.vt.us

Sen. Francis K. Brooks, fbrooks@leg.state.vt.us

CLICK HERE for Information for Witnesses

Contact me at 802-426-3579 or crkdbrks@aol.com.