Nominate the Best in Agriculture! October 1 Deadline

                                                  Members are recognized at Vermont Farm Bureau's Annual Meeting in November

Every year members are recognized for their exemplary service to agriculture at Vermont Farm Bureau’s Annual Meeting and Conference.   Agriculture plays a critical role in Vermont's economy, and it's important to publicly recognize the individuals and families that produce, educate, and contribute to our beautiful state. Categories are:

Vermont Century Farm:  Century Award application 

The Parsons Farm in Richford won the Century Farm Award in 2019. This award is given in cooperation with the Vermont State Grange. Jenny Nelson, Liz Lowry, and Brad Howe, as representatives of the Vermont State Grange, accepted the award on behalf of the Parson family.

Left to Right: Liz Lowry, Brad Howe, Joseph Tisbert, Jenny Nelson

This award is given to recognize farmers who have maintained the home farm in the same family for 100 years or more. Since 1953, the Vermont State Grange and the Vermont Farm Bureau have jointly sponsored the Vermont Century Farms Program. In doing so, the two organizations have continued a project begun in 1951 under the leadership of Dr. Arthur Wallace Peach, who was the director of the Vermont Historical Society.

The Cornwall Award: Cornwall Award Application 

The Cornwall Award honors the best overall County Farm Bureau program in Vermont.  It is named in memory of Vermont Farm Bureau’s 1st president, Ellsworth B. Cornwall. It is in his honor, and in the tradition of leadership excellence that the truly dedicated and successful County Farm Bureaus, with their leaders and members, are proudly recognized.

Farm Woman of the Year Award:  Farm Woman of the Year Application

Selection of the winning farm woman is based on efforts in both the chosen occupation and leadership achievement.

Young Farmer Achievement Award:  Young Farmer Achievement Award Application

Vermont Farm Bureau  annually conducts a young farmer achievement award program. County Farm Bureaus are encouraged to promote this activity in their own county. Selection of the winning young farmer individual or family is based on their efforts in both their chosen occupation and leadership achievement.  Participation in this program with individual recognition and the resulting publicity will help build the organization.

Farm Family of the Year Award: Farm Family of Year Application  

Vermont Farm Bureau annually conducts an outstanding farmer award program. Selection of the winning farmer (farm family) is based on efforts in both the chosen occupation and leadership achievement

The Wallace award: The Wallace Award Application 

At the 2019 VTFB Annual Meeting, President Tisbert presented the Wallace Award to Jacques Couture (joined by his wife, Pauline). 

The Wallace Award is named for past Vermont Farm Bureau president, Keith Wallace and is presented annually in the spirit of recognizing Vermont’s finest agriculturists.  First presented in 1975, this highest award given by Vermont Farm Bureau honors individuals or couples for their distinguished lifetime service to agriculture.

Applications are due at the Farm Bureau office by September 18th

 The Eric Rozendaal Memorial Award: Application

Deadline for $5,000 Farmer Award Extended

This year’s award will recognize Covid-19 response and community engagementThe deadline for the Eric Rozendaal Memorial Award has been extended, the Vermont Land Trust Announced today. The $5,000 award is granted each year to a farmer who exemplifies service to community and innovation in honor of Eric Rozendaal who passed away in 2018. This year’s prize will seek to recognize a farmer who has been serving people most affected by the pandemic.

“Vermont’s farming community has stepped up to serve their communities this year,” said Nick Richardson, President and CEO of the Vermont Land Trust. “The award committee wants to honor and recognize these special efforts.”

The original deadline of June 30 has been extended to September 18, to give more farmers across the state the chance to apply. Applicants should be residents of Vermont, actively working on or managing a commercial farm operation in the state, and have not received the award in the past. The winning farmer can apply the $5,000 towards efforts related to serving the community.

The award will be announced in the fall. Details regarding the award and application can be found at 

The Eric Rozendaal Award was created to honor the life and legacy of Eric as a thoughtful and enterprising farmer who built community with those around him. The first Eric Rozendaal Memorial Award was given in 2019 to Corie Pierce of Bread & Butter Farm in Shelburne and South Burlington. The award will be given annually, until 2029.